Latest News

France vs Argentina: Polish referee, Marciniak admits making errors

Polish referee, Szymon Marciniak,  has revealed that he made a mistake while officiating the final  game between France and Argentina at the just concluded Qatar 2022 World Cup.

The referee became the first Polish to officiate a World Cup final in history.

Although, Marciniak has admitted he made errors, soccer fans and pundits still gave him pass mark for his performance  in the game.

Among Marciniak’s highlight were three rightfully awarded penalties and booking French striker Marcus Thuram for diving without consulting VAR.

Meanwhile, Marciniak has revealed he would have loved to do better.

“Of course, there were mistakes in this final,” he told Sport.PL.

“I interrupted the French counter-attack after a bad tackle by Marcos Acuna.

“I was afraid that the fouled player wanted to unwind, and I read it wrong because nothing happened, and you could give an advantage and then come back with a card.

“It’s hard. In a game like this, I take such a mistake in the dark. The important thing is that there were no big mistakes.”

Prior to officiating in the final, Marciniak had intially officiated Both France and Argentina in the group stage of the competition.

However, Marciniak’s performance was rated top notch despite admitting he made errors in the game.

 

 

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this:

Adblock Detected

Adblocker Detected Please Disable Adblocker to View This PAGE