Latest News

FIFA questioned over Messi’s wearing of black bisht before World Cup presentation

Former Tottenham soccer star, Ramon Vega has questioned FIFA for allowing Qatar to dress Messi in a black Arab robe before the World Cup trophy presentation on Sunday, shortly after the 4-2 penalty win against France at the Lusail Stadium.

Shortly before being presented with the trophy, Messi was robed in a black attire as a means of honouring the World Cup winner.

Before the crowning moment, the Paris Saint-Germain forward was greeted by FIFA president, Gianni Infantino and the Emir of Qatar Sheikh Tamim bin Hamad Al Thani, who dressed him in a traditional Arab attire known as bisht.

The traditional garment signifies honour and prestige and is particularly worn at major occasions such as weddings and other events.

According to Vega FIFA broke its own rules by allowing him to be robed in the black attire.

In a tweet via his Twitter handle on Monday, Vega drew attention to a section of FIFA’s rulebook, which stated that ‘celebratory attire’ may only be worn after some formalities had been carried out.

Rule 27.2 stated: “In FIFA final competitions, celebratory attire may only be worn on the field of play after the following official FIFA activities have taken place (during which the team must wear the shirts they wore during the match in question).

“[These include:] the trophy presentation, official FIFA photographs and official media appearances.”

Vega then accompanied his image of the rulebook with a series of questioning emojis, clearly confused as to why the World football governing body had allowed Qatar to carry out the ritual.

 

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this:

Adblock Detected

Adblocker Detected Please Disable Adblocker to View This PAGE